The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt – Beautiful first impression

Posted on Updated on

In the short time I’ve played The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt – about 3 hours to be exact – one thing is certain: it is beautiful. One of the best looking games I’ve ever played, in fact. The textures are wonderful, the faces are bordering on photo-realistic and the scenery – aside from the odd jagged edge here and there – is simply breathtaking.

Scenery
The scenery in TW3 is breathtaking! Click to see full-scale.

Admittedly, it’s been quite a while since I’ve played the previous two Witcher games. I needed a refresher, so I made a quick jaunt over to Youtube and in 5 minutes I was caught up. I haven’t played far enough into the story yet to warrant any sort of review of the plot itself, but that was mainly because I’ve wanted to explore everywhere. And you can, mostly. I did run into a “this is the edge of the world – turn back” message while trying to go for a swim during the game’s first hour, but other than that, my experience has been one of adventure and exploration, meeting characters along the way – even one who looked strangely familiar…like a certain drummer.

Ringo!
Apparently Ringo made the cut!

There are lush forests, little towns and even the odd public hanging just waiting to be discovered. Signs say it’s illegal to cut down people that are hanging, I tried and you can’t do it anyway…kind of a disappointment. You’re making choices early on as well, and according to every account I’ve heard, these will all matter to some extent as the game progresses. They’re fairly simple ‘good guy bad guy’ choices right now, but they’re becoming more grey as I get farther along. No telling what’s in store as the reportedly 100+ hour journey unfolds, but I’ll be adding occasional updates on my progress throughout.

witcher3 2015-05-19 20-58-40-33

TL/DR: So far, so good. Beautiful graphics and entertaining characters.

2 thoughts on “The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt – Beautiful first impression

    jjmahoney007 said:
    May 20, 2015 at 5:54 pm

    I’ve only played about an hour (on PS4) and despite nearly getting stuck once (I got on my horse when it was under something and couldn’t move), I’ve enjoyed it a lot. I haven’t played the other games, but it doesn’t seem to matter. I’m sure being able to recognize random NPCs from the other games would be cool (I loved that in Dragon Age: Inquisition) but I’m fine not having those moments.

Leave a Reply

